top of page
  • st10125404

Life of A Teacher

  • How did you cope/manage completing the three days of "Life of a teacher"?

I managed completing the three days with the help of my mentor teacher and she ensured that I filled it in correctly. This is because I had to juggle three different classes that were outside of my required grade. So I showed it to her and she assisted when i needed assistance.

  • How did you feel taking on all the responsibilities of a teacher in Block 1 compared to Block 2?

Block 1 was rather problematic, because the learners were not familiar with me and they had trouble engaging with me as the teacher. While block 2 was rather easy and i was now used to the environment rather than before. The learners were also engaging in class compared to block 1.

  • Which activities did you find most challenging? How did you overcome these challenges?

The most challenging activity was when I had to teach the grade 3 learners how to read and majority of them couldn't read. So I suggested to their principal that we should start and after-school program where learners bring story books in the after-school and they are being taught how to read.

  • Analyse your results of your self-evaluation survey where would you rate yourself higher?

I would rate myself higher on the classroom management part. Because I believe I managed the classes I was teaching very well and the learners were also cooperative when I was with them.

  • Justify how you have improved these competencies through this experience.

I have improved very well in terms of pedagogical knowledge and subject knowledge. Because I have made sure that in each and every class or lesson that I teach, I go to that particular lesson understanding and knowing what the topic is about and understanding what is required of me as the teacher by my mentor teacher.

  • Compare the initial self-evaluation completed at the beginning of the teaching experience to the exit level outcomes and final comments by the mentor teacher.

The initial self evaluation was similar to the one made by my mentor teacher, because I had managed to adapt to their teaching methods easily and also manage the class as I was required to. This is because the class I was placed in had both grade 6 and 7 learners, meaning i was working with both grades when it came to class management. It was fairly good and the comments made by my mentor teacher are the ones that proved to me how I have improved.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My Social Action Project

The effectiveness of the project, considering each component and reflecting on your learning experience as well as the impact on the school or community. The project was indeed effective, because afte

Micro Teaching Reflection

What was my most challenging moment in this lesson and why? The most challenging moment about this lesson was the part where my lesson had to commence and the internet connecting was poor. The next ti

bottom of page